Choi To Lead The Crimson’s 144th Guard

Choi to serve as President, Duehren as Managing Editor, Huh as Business Manager

{shortcode-a2ac16ca06081fe0c8d3db31ba73ac062163e234} Derek K. Choi ’18 will lead the newly elected 144th Guard of The Harvard Crimson, the organization’s President announced on Friday.

Choi, a government concentrator from Northbrook, Ill. and a Leverett House resident, currently serves as a design and editorial executive for The Crimson. Choi served as a daily design executive and ran the design board’s comp for one semester. He also ran the comp for the Editorial Board for two semesters while penning several staff editorials. Choi will begin as President in January.

“This incredibly dedicated group of leaders promises to be exceptional, and I am confident the 144th Guard will take this organization to new heights in the coming year,” Crimson president Mariel A. Klein '17 said.

News writer Andrew M. Duehren ’18 will serve as the guard’s Managing Editor, overseeing the production of the organization’s daily newspaper, magazine and arts sections, and blogs. Duehren currently serves as a reporter covering University President Drew G. Faust and Harvard’s central administration.

The Crimson’s Business Manager-elect is Christopher J. Huh ’18. Huh will take the helm of The Crimson’s finances and operations.


Founded in 1873, The Crimson is the only daily newspaper in Cambridge, Mass., and the oldest continuously published daily college newspaper.

The Crimson selects its leaders through an election process called the Turkey Shoot, in which all outgoing executives are invited to participate. A successful candidate must receive at least 75 percent of the vote to be elected to any position.

This year, The Crimson added a position to the masthead: Digital Strategist. In the years ahead, the Digital Strategist will collect and analyze data to inform decisions about The Crimson’s website and social media presence, as well as its daily workflow.

Joining Choi, Duehren, and Huh on the masthead are:

Associate Managing Editors: Jalin P. Cunningham ’18 and Daphne C. Thompson ’18

Associate Business Managers: Charlene Y. Hwang ’18 and Zizi Zhang ’18

Editorial Chairs: Juan V. Esteller ’19 and Ruben E. Reyes, Jr. ’19

Arts Chairs: Elizabeth C. Keto ’18 and J. Thomas Westbrook ’18

Blog Chairs: Brandon J. Dixon ’19 and Isabel A. Wagner ’18

Design Chairs: Nathan A. Cummings ’18 and Brandon A. Wright ’18

Fifteen Minutes Chairs: Laura E. Hatt ’18 and Emma K. Talkoff ’18

Multimedia Chairs: Annie E. Schugart ’18 and Helen Y. Wu '19

Sports Chairs: Sam H. Danello ’18 and Stephen J. Gleason ’18

Technology Chairs: Ben Anandappa ’18 and Jessica M. Zhu ’18

Digital Strategist: Brian P. Yu ’19

Recommended Articles